Celebrate Independence! July 4th Fun!

photoshoot-131
American Flag Stars Napkins by & Red Tavern Check Vinyl Tablecloth by Fabric Textile Products, Inc. (photo is property of Chrissy Fimiani and Fabric Textile Products, Inc.)

July 4th weekend is almost here! BBQ’s, fireworks, beach trips, & family fun have become staples of this American tradition. 4th of July has always been one of my favorite holidays since  I was a little kid. My family (large Italian-American family to be exact) would have a huge BBQ at our house every year. I was on decorating duty of course and would cover the backyard in red, white, & blue streamers. Mom would make every kind of salad known to man. Dad would grill every kind of meat the butcher could supply. My brother and I would go swimming in the pool for hours and then eat tons of ice cream until we couldn’t stomach anymore. (Yeah, Mom really “loved” that part.) At the end of the night, we would always watch the local fireworks display and go back to our house and make smores. If we were lucky, we would get to play with little sparklers too!

Our family tradition has changed since we are all getting older, but I still really enjoy the holiday. This year I have the opportunity to spend the holiday weekend in our nation’s capital, beautiful Washington, D.C. and I could not be any more thrilled! D.C. has become one of my favorite travel destinations and what better time to go than to celebrate our freedom and independence? It is going to be amazing. I will certainly do a follow up blog about my trip! I am looking forward to the parade and fireworks display. I’m sure the view from my hotel in Capitol Hill will be amazing!

To get in the patriotic spirit, I just wanted to share some pictures from my previous trips to D.C. with all of you. If you have not been there yet, I HIGHLY recommend taking a trip there with friends or family. The monuments are beautiful. The museums are excellent. The local food is delicious. The National Zoo has pandas! You don’t come across them very often! Most importantly, it is our beautiful country’s capital. It is a diverse city rich with culture and history.

I hope you enjoy celebrating 4th of July with your families! I will share photos from my trip with you in a few weeks!

Joanna

Fabric Textile Products, Inc.

All below photos belong to Joanna Maruca and may not be used or reprinted without my permission. Thank you.

IMG_1846
The United States Capitol was particularly gorgeous on that sunny day! We visited Memorial Day weekend in 2013 and left right from my college graduation!
IMG_1907
These cupcakes from Georgetown Cupcake were TO DIE FOR! No wonder this place has been on national TV! Yum!
IMG_1897
Georgetown Cupcake can be seen on the hit TLC show, DC Cupcakes!
IMG_1874
One of the giant pandas at the National Zoo! He was chowing down on some bamboo for lunch! He was so cute! Unfortunately the indoor exhibit causes glares on your photos. It was great though!         
Leave a Reply

